# **Practical Nurse Licensure by Examination**

State of Maine Licensure Requirements

The following information is the general information needed for licensure and does not reflect other information that may be requested based on review of an application.

#### **APPLICATION AND FEE**

- 1) **Apply online** on the <u>Maine State Board of Nursing website</u>. Select *I want to "apply for a license"* and follow the instructions.
- 2) The non-refundable **application fee** is \$50.00
- 3) Upload a recent color **photograph** that displays a clear, recognizable full-face view. This MUST be a self-portrait with no filters or additions, edits, and no other people in the photo or background. Copies of a driver's license, passport or passport-style photos, and copies of ID/badge photos will NOT be accepted.
- 4) Upload a signed and dated **application signature page**. Go to Maine State Board of Nursing website and the form is located in the <u>Licensing section</u>.
- 5) Send in supporting documentation. All "yes" responses to questions in the disciplinary section of the application require a signed explanation, as well as court documents for any incidents that occurred less than 10 years ago. These forms can be uploaded to your checklist, or:
  - Mailed to Maine State Board of Nursing 158 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333
  - Emailed to <u>Exams.PFRNursing@maine.gov</u>

## NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT INFORMATION

- A legal resident of another compact state cannot apply for practical nurse licensure by examination in the state of Maine.
- If moving to Maine, a legal resident of another compact state is required to provide a Declaration of Primary Residence Form once the applicant relocates to Maine. The form can be found on the Maine State Board of Nursing in the <u>Licensing section</u>.
- Maine state law authorizes the Board to request any or all documents that provide proof of legal residency in Maine, including but not limited to:
  - Driver's license
  - Tax forms
  - Validation of residence
- For compact purposes, the primary state of residence/legal state is not related to property ownership, school location, or work location; it is the state in which a person holds legal documents.
- More information regarding the Nurse Licensure Compact can be found on the website for the <u>National Council of State Boards of Nursing</u>.

#### TRANSCRIPT(S)

Applicants graduating from out-of-state programs must have the school send or e-mail a **final transcript** with degree and date conferred to:

- Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, Augusta ME 04333 or
- <u>Exams.PFRNursing@maine.gov</u>

#### SCHOOL CERTIFICATION

The school must complete the **School Certification Form** located on the <u>Maine State Board of</u> <u>Nursing website</u> within the <u>Examination</u> section.

- This form must be completed by the nursing program administration, not the registrar nor the applicant.
- The form must be completed thoroughly and accurately, stamped with the school's official seal, and sent by the school.
- This document must be mailed to Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, Augusta ME 04333. We cannot accept electronic versions of this form.

## FOREIGN OR CANADIAN-EDUCATED APPLICANTS

- The applicant is required to have a transcript review by the Commission of Graduates of Foreign Nursing Programs (CGFNS), and that information must be submitted to the Maine Board of Nursing by CGFNS or posted for review on the <u>CGFNS website</u>.
- CGFNS is the only credential evaluation organization that Maine Board of Nursing accepts.
- Effective May 22, 2023, applicants who have been educated at a Foreign (Country other than the United States) educational facility, and who are seeking licensure in Maine from the Maine Board of Nursing, must report ALL foreign (outside the United States) licenses to be verified/validated through CGFNS and reported in the CES report.
- If an applicant's education was taught in any language other than English, the applicant must complete a TOEFL English language proficiency test. Maine accepts ONLY the TOEFL for English language proficiency test.

## **CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK**

Maine state law authorizes the State Board of Nursing to require an applicant to complete the **fingerprinting** process for a criminal background check upon initial licensure.

- <u>IdentoGO</u> is the exclusive vendor that is responsible for processing your fingerprints.
- Go to the <u>Maine State Board of Nursing website</u>. Select "I want to obtain a criminal background check" and follow the instructions.
- The criminal background check results are only valid for **90 days**.
- The Maine Board of Nursing cannot accept fingerprint cards or criminal background results mailed by you, or results that were completed for another facility, even if the previous check was completed through the Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
- Please pay careful attention to IdentoGO instructions.

## UNITED STATES (US) SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

The applicant must be issued a **US Social Security Number** before they can be issued licensure by the Maine Board of Nursing.

## PEARSON VUE

Pearson VUE is the exclusive company that provides the computer based **NCLEX examination**, which is offered in both domestic and international authorized test centers.

- 1) Go to <u>www.nclex.com</u> to register.
- 2) There is a non-refundable \$200 registration fee.
- 3) Once the Board of Nursing makes the applicant eligible to receive an Authorization to Test, they are able to schedule the NCLEX exam to be administered at any <u>test center.</u>
- 4) Authorization to Test is only valid for **90 days** and cannot be extended for any reason.

#### APPLICANTS WITH NURSING SERVICE IN THE MEDICAL CORPS OF ANY BRANCH OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES

The MAINE NURSE PRACTICE ACT, <u>32 M.R.S. § 2251-A(3)</u>, specifies that an applicant who qualifies on the basis of **U.S. Military service** must have:

- served on active duty in the medical corps of any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States and spent an aggregate of at least 12 months rendering bedside patient care
- completed the basic course of instruction in nursing required by the branch of the Armed Forces of the United States in which the applicant served
- was honorably discharged from active duty

# TO APPLY FOR LICENSURE:

- 1) Complete the online application for Licensed Practical Nurse by Examination as stated above and follow the instructions.
- 2) Upload the following documents as part of the application process:
  - Official transcripts or official "certificate of release or discharge from active duty" (DD214) showing completion of basic course of instruction in nursing required by the branch of the armed forces.
  - Official DD214 or other military document showing that service in the armed forces has been under honorable conditions, or whose general discharge has been under honorable conditions; and
  - Military performance evaluations while assigned to military hospital verifying 12 months of inpatient bedside patient care (including hospital assigned, specific dates to and from, wards assigned, and duties performed).